Saturday, May 10, 2008

Obama's 57 States of America

Obama recently said there were 57 states (there are only 50).  But one Stuart KD points out that the candidate is not altogether mistaken:

There are 50 US states, and six US territories.
Puerto Rico
U.S. Virgin Islands
American Samoa
Northern Mariana Islands
Minor Outlying Islands (Wake Island and Johnston Island)

And one US-administered region, Guantanamo Bay Naval Base, Guantanamo Bay, Cuba.

Obama may have misspoke about 57 states, but in all US territories and administered regions, the head of state is the President of the United States.

Monday, May 5, 2008

Would-be visitors to the US frustrated

Want to know why the US is missing out on the worldwide travel boom? Read this.
SPECIAL COVERAGE I live-blogged the spontaneous Obama victory celebration in Washington DC. Experience what it felt like to be among thousands of deliriously happy people gathered outside the White House. Click here.

Previously, I had been blogging about the Obama, McCain and the US election. I wrote about Sarah Palin on this blog even before McCain chose her to be his running mate. The choice was disappointing, and a possibility I had anticipated.

When you subscribe to Jot USA, you receive the latest posts from JOTMAN.COM and this USA companion blog.


When you subscribe to Jot USA, you receive the entire JOTMAN.COM blog, the Jot USA supplement, plus US-related travel and health tips.

Subscribe in a reader

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner